Motorhead Clean Your Clock (2016)
  • Facebook
  • twitter
Motörhead “Clean Your Clock”

UDR/Motörhead Music
Release: May 27th, 2016
Review by Coren E. McLeod 

I remember growing up in the 1980’s and living with a sister that was 6 years older than me. She was the definition of what a typical 80’s chick was: skinny, black leather coats, big, blonde hair equipped with Aquanet and listening to heavy metal very loud. (My sister was a dead look alike of Kelly Bundy. Just saying. Stop drooling people!) I always thought even to this day that my sister Brandi is what every girl should be.

Living in a suburb of the Chicagoland area, I remember Brandi blasting from her room Guns N Roses, White Snake and Motorhead. With Brandi being 13 years old and I was just a tiny 7 years old, we would rock out to such songs like “Sweet Child O’ Mine,” “Ace of Spades,” and “Here I Go Again.” So, I have Brandi to thank for getting me into metal music at such a young age.

In December of 2015, the metal music scene lost in my opinion a legend. Lemmy of MotorHead was just a magnificent giant that sang and played the bass like it was his mission in life. Lemmy, in the eyes of many, was this hard rock creature that sang with conviction and connected with his fans on so many levels. MotorHead toured as if their life depended on it. Their stage presence would go all over the world playing to sold out arenas. In respect to their jaw dropping performances and their dedicated fans,

On November 20th and 21st of 2015 in Munich, Germany, MotorHead and UDR Records decided to record these 2 epic live shows. Which, in my opinion, could be the last “swan song” for Lemmy. The album entitled Clean Your Clock will be released on May 27th, 2016. While I was listening to this astounding record, the band just seemed on point delivering a right in your fucking face performance of raw talent.

Phil “Wizzo” Campbell always impresses with his wizardry yet gritty magic on the guitar. Mikkey Dee slams his drums as if he is the world is on fire and its his mission to save us all. And of course Lemmy, his voice was so dead on from each snarl and crinkle of his manly voice.

The CD starts off with the ever addicting heavy metal song to the Gods “Bomber.” To fan favorite “Rock It” to “Ace of Spades” to ending with “Overkill,” Lemmy was literally at his prime which would be his last show on stage. This CD represents a band that has had its glory days in becoming one of the most talked about and heavily influenced bands of its era. I was lucky enough to listen to this album and its jaw dropping. I could tune into Lemmy just killing it and melting off so many faces of the unbelievable crowd of on lookers.

MotorHead are the pioneers that served as the base for all metal heads out there. The entire band is a beast that took on a “take no shit” attitude and just went for it. Clean Your Clock is a tribute not only to Lemmy, but to the fans that wanted that one last thrill. However, do not expect this to be the last album. So, make sure you stay tune.

“So TURN-THIS-UP because as Lemmy himself said, the only way to feel the noise is when it’s good and loud… and remember Lemmy and Motörhead in the best possible way !!!”

More Motorhead at UnRated Magazine | iMotorhead UDR Music

They were the Kings of the Road. They lived on it. They loved it and the fans loved them!

Never was the spirit of Motörhead more alive than when they were on tour, shake, rattle and rolling audiences to within an inch of their lives thanks to that indomitable cocktail of power, purpose and head-crunching volume. In fact, after four decades of bone-pulverizing duty, Motörhead were still enjoying sold-out gigs worldwide.

On November 20th and 21st 2015, at the Zenith in Munich, Germany, UDR Records made the decision to record – what happened to be the very last live shows ever recorded – and Motörhead proceeded to deliver two storming sold out shows. Where there had once been almost too-fast breakneck pace, there was measured yet still thunderous rock’n’roll served up only as they could, Phil Campbell playing better and better, and Mikkey Dee elevating the art of drumming to the superlative heights which made him one of metal’s most coveted skinsmen.


He sounds so dialed in, a little mean even (in the best possible way) snarling here and there, cackling when appropriate, and singing in a way which will defy every single pre-conceived expectation you might have had. Yes, he was fighting ailments. But no, he was not flimsy or faded, in fact on Clean Your Clock he lays down the marker for all near-70 year olds in terms of wicked bad-assery.

Those first strains of the mighty “Bomber” are like a salve to all heavy metal souls, the reverberant classic forcing you to turn it up, Lemmy snarling and roaring. “Metropolis” grooving like the day it was written, and “Overkill” as mighty as ever…. And here is the unavoidable truth. There will be no more Motörhead tours because Lemmy is no longer here, and many, many people did not get a chance to hear them one more time on what proved to be their last-ever piece of road work.

Which makes Clean Your Clock a vitally important release. It is both a celebration and an epitaph, glorious yet not without melancholy, maintaining the warmth and curve of Motörhead’s unique live sound.

Clean Your Clock is the natural sound of one of rock’n’roll’s mightiest, rarest and most astoundingly excellent beasts – Motörhead. There isn’t a plaudit they haven’t received and there isn’t a plaudit they don’t deserve. And if there had to be a ‘final’ Motörhead album, perhaps it is fitting that Clean Your Clock, a superb live encapsulation of the band at home, is the one.

So TURN-THIS-UP because as Lemmy himself said, the only way to feel the noise is when it’s good and loud… and remember Lemmy and Motörhead in the best possible way !!!


Bomber / Stay Clean / Metropolis / When The Sky Comes Looking For You / Over The Top / (Guitar Solo) The Chase Is Better Than The Catch / Lost Woman Blues/ Rock It / Orgasmatron / Doctor Rock / Just ‘Cos You Got The Power/ No Class/ Ace Of Spades/ Whorehouse Blues / Overkill


Jewel Case (audio only) / 12” Colored Double Vinyl (audio only), DVD/CD Mini Gatefold (audio/video) / BluRay/CD Mini Gatefold (audio/video), Boxset (12” Colored Double Vinyl, DVD, BluRay, Medal (audio video) / Digital Audio (audio only) , Longform Video (video only)

Motorhead was: Ian ‘Lemmy’ Kilmister (vocals, bass), Phil Campbell (guitars) and Mikkey Dee (drums)



1. Start – 00:00:00
2. Live Intro – 00:01:06
3. Bomber – 00:02:44
4. Stay Clean – 00:06:06
5. Metropolis – 00:09:41
6. When the Sky Comes Looking for You – 00:14:33
7. Over the Top – 00:18:16
8. Guitar Solo – 00:21:10
9. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch – 00:23:08
10. Lost Woman Blues – 00:28:39
11. Rock It – 00:34:07
12. Orgasmatron – 00:36:52
13. Doctor Rock Pt 1 – 00:43:28
14. Drum Solo – 00:45:18
15. Doctor Rock Pt 2 – 00:49:54
16. Just ‘Cos You Got the Power – 00:52:11
17. No Class – 00:58:08
18. Ace of Spades – 01:01:07
19. Whorehouse Blues – 01:08:01
20. Overkill – 01:14:05